TNA News English

Kolkata: Voting for the seventh phase of the Bengal assembly election continues amid Corona transition. This round is nothing short of an ordeal for the Election Commission. Because, there is voting in Murshidabad and Malda notorious for electoral violence. This is the reason why it has been decided to hold voting in both these districts in two phases. The challenge is even greater because of its proximity to the Bangladesh border. The Commission’s focus is now on security arrangements as well as protection from the Corona epidemic. Special instructions have been given to the administration and election personnel in this regard.

According to the Election Commission, in the seventh phase of the West Bengal assembly elections, by 9.30 am, 17.47% polling was done.

  • West Bengal elections: During the seventh phase of voting, TMC MP Nusrat Jahan and his parents cast their vote at a polling station in Kolkata.

Abhishek Banerjee, nephew of TMC MP Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, cast his vote in Bhawanipur. He said that Mamata Banerjee’s government would be formed with a 2/3 majority. A second wave of corona is underway. People are dying every day but the central government is busy in elections.

West Bengal: Voting for the seventh phase of the assembly elections. Photos from booth number 116 of Murshidabad.

West Bengal: Voting has started for the seventh phase of the assembly elections. People voted at booth number 142 of Ratua Assembly in Malda district.

267 candidates are in the fray for 34 seats.

In the seventh phase, 81.88 lakh voters will exercise their franchise in 11,376 booths in four constituencies of Kolkata, six in Malda, nine in Murshidabad, six in South Dinajpur and nine assembly seats in West Bardhaman district. In the seventh phase, the Commission has deployed 796 companies of central security forces. Explain that 267 candidates are in the fray for 34 seats, including 37 women. Earlier, voting was to be held in 36 seats in this phase, but due to death of one candidate each of Jangipur and Shamsherganj in Murshidabad district from Corona, votes will now be cast on 16 May. Due to this, the number of candidates also decreased from 284 to 267.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here